Fit Recovery

Home » Cycling » ‘Tis the Winter of My Discontent…

‘Tis the Winter of My Discontent…


I can’t remember the last time we knew it was going to be a white Christmas in southeastern Michigan.  A few years ago the temperature went below 18 degrees on the 18th of November and it didn’t rise above that point again until late February but we had sparse snow until January.  I remember this because it’s tied to my sobriety anniversary.

This winter is a different story:

This year, we’re getting pounded.  Record cold, lots of snow.

Last year, while it was cold, we were at least cycling into January.  This year, without picking up a fat bike and some studded tires, we’re stuck inside on the trainers:

There are obviously worse places to be…  After suffering a sprained ankle at work a couple of weeks ago, I still haven’t regained full range of motion.  On the other hand, I only took one day off riding.  It was painful, cycling, but not ridiculously so.

A few points on that front:

1.  I truly believe that, were it not for the stability/strength of my legs created by cycling, the sprain would have been much worse.  I’ve sprained my ankles in the past, much worse, wrenching them less violently.  

2.  I was pain-free after a couple of weeks, standard for a decent sprain.  I did, and didn’t, “listen to my body”.  I iced my ankle withing three hours of an unsuccessful attempt at “walking it off”.  The walking didn’t help, the icing did, immensely.  I didn’t listen to common practice and take a week, or more, off.  The way the ankle felt after intermittent icing for the entire afternoon/evening didn’t warrant being laid up.  

3.  Recovery is to blame for this way of doing things.  I learned that truth is not always comfortable, or what I want.  I learned that honesty is the easiest path to happiness…

All too often I see people and read of people overusing injury to warrant lethargy.  It is indeed rare to see someone work around ailments to stay fit.

I am afflicted, as most are, with that melon committee member who constantly advocates doing less, pushes for more couch time, more food, more fat, and an easier gear on my bicycle.  I know the difference between listening to my body and listening to the committee.  I know my enemy.

There are, without question, those ailments that require rest.  Not many can’t be worked around though.  Besides, I want to drop below a 2,200 calorie a day diet like I want a hit in the head.

So, I’ll hit the hamster wheel once again, sometime this morning, because in a little more than two months, it’s going to be spring again and I will be ready to enjoy riding the roads with my friends once again.  Doing what I love requires that I am fit, and I won’t miss a beat.

To do that, I’m willing to put up with a little pain and boredom on the trainer because I know one important truth:

The only thing more painful than exercise and exertion is sitting it out.

One final note:  Yesterday was Fit Recovery’s fifth anniversary.  Pretty cool methinks.

17 Comments

  1. Tony says:

    Congrats on your five years and recovery! Well done. I also agree with your first point that your riding prevented your sprain from being worse. Exercise is a gift that keeps on giving. Keep up the good work!

  2. Sandra says:

    Congratulations on five years! What a wonderful accomplishment. I started in late 2009, I believe–but not the way nes you have seen.

    I have been watching your weather and feeling a tad sad for you. Worse for me (sorry), because up until my birthday, it was perfect for riding. But I have had to sit out entirely for two months. And I have another at least two more to go.

    Happy spinning!

  3. Sandra says:

    Sorry I can’t type

  4. zoeforman says:

    Hope you are back on your feet & out on the roads soon.
    Turbo & treadmill have become my places to hang out this winter too – new asthma related

  5. chape says:

    Happy Anniversary 🙂
    Careful with all that snow!!

  6. OmniRunner says:

    Happy anniversary my friend, take care of that sprain. Better to deal with it than have it linger.

  7. wanderwolf says:

    The ankle will heal… the cold will take a bit longer to get rid of.
    Happy 5 years!

  8. Tracy & Joel says:

    Happy Anniversary! Here’s to another 5 more!

Leave a Reply

