Fit Recovery

Home » Cycling » The Only Time a 30 Minute Spin on the Trainer is Okay….

The Only Time a 30 Minute Spin on the Trainer is Okay….


Work has been fast and furious lately.  I had an emergency pop up that I had to attend to immediately so my guys could remain productive.  I dropped everything and ran to the print shop.  The first, a Staples, said they could get my measly seven pages done by 3 pm.  It was 9 am.  I laughed, said no thanks, and walked out the door.

I found a local FedEx print and ship shop and had my drawings printed fifteen minutes later, on the exact same machine they had at Staples.

I hopped back to the office pick up payroll then assessed my situation… Earlier I’d cleared up a bid I had due the next day but I had to be to a progress meeting at a monster job I’ve got going about 25 minutes from my office.  I couldn’t fit my 45 minute spin in and make the meeting in time to walk the job with my superintendent before the meeting.
It had been exactly one week since I’d taken a day off, so I figured this would be mine.  I packed up my stuff and rolled.  I made it in plenty of time, got everything squared away and rocked the meeting.

I got back to my office at 2:28 and had to leave at 3:20 to meet my daughter getting off the bus (Mrs. Bgddy was at the eldest daughter’s swim meet)…  instead of plunking away on my computer to pass time, I quickly donned my kit and climbed on the bike (it’s on a trainer in my office) at exactly 2:30.

I cranked out a half-hour at hyper-speed and was drenched by the time I was done.  I finished up my daily push-ups (I had 35 to go), cleaned up, packed up and ran out the door.

On one hand, I hate 30 minute workouts, even if they are extra-tough.  On the other hand, it’s better than taking a day off.

These are the only days that I can be happy with 30 minutes of exercise.  Oh, and the push-ups (press-ups for my brothers and sisters across the pond) don’t count.  I only do those so I can pull harder on my handlebars when I launch a sprint…

I know me.  I am honest about who I am.  I know half measures will lead to polishing the couch with my ass.  If you’ve ever wondered why I do what I do, these last two paragraphs sum it up pretty good.

Half-measures avail me nothing.  A good rule to live by…

11 Comments

  1. Ever tried Zwift? makes trainer sessions alot more bearable for me. It’s almost like a cycling powered video game. Kinda cool.

  2. snorycewton says:

    I second the mention of Zwift. I’ts on iOS and very simple and easy to use. They have group rides, races, and an amazing amount of workouts as well. You can even customize your own workouts. I highly recommend it. The trainer sucks no matter how you slice. Zwift makes it a bit more bearable.

  3. saoirsek says:

    That line “half measures” always made me smile. I NEVER did half measures!! Anyhoo, excellent work, great to get that sesh in. I’ve been off 6 weeks , been ill. Took to getting more meetings in that period, all good… back training Monday…woohoo, have a cracking weekend with your family🙂

    • bgddyjim says:

      That’s one of my favorite lines in the whole book. That and the cheesy line, “If you want to make it in the program, start with the first three words on page 112”.
      I absolutely will, thank you! Feel better soon!

  4. wanderwolf says:

    Ah yes. I agree. A 30 minute workout is best when compared to no workout at all. Plus, 30 minutes high speed + push-ups after a high-powered day at work sounds like an awesome strength session, if you ask me.

Leave a Reply

