Fit Recovery

Home » Cycling » Two Million Words and all I have to show for it is a Cool Bike… but that’s about to Change.

Two Million Words and all I have to show for it is a Cool Bike… but that’s about to Change.

February 2017
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728  

I started writing this blog, not this post, the collection of my posts, with a purpose; To share what I’ve learned in recovery with those not fortunate enough to have “a program” as well as share my experience with those who do.

I’ve written a lot more about cycling than initially intended but that’s only because cycling is awesome and the sport makes my recovery more enjoyable.

Thus far I’ve received exactly nothing for my effort, and that has always been the idea.  We don’t sell recovery, we give it away.  Free of charge.  A bunch of people gave me a new outlook, a good, happy, wonderful outlook on life so I’m simply doing my part to make sure others get the same, if they’re willing to work for it.

It turns out I’m not a very good sponsor, mainly because I expect people to work for their recovery as I did.  Not exactly skirt-blowing news (most people prefer the “osmosis method” which typically has poor results).  I have, in the process, been able to reach more people that I ever could attending meetings.  I’ve gotten several “this post changed my life” comments and that’s what has kept me going.  That’s all this blog has ever been about (again, the collection, not the post).

As cycling goes, I’ve never sought out ambassadorships, free stuff or sponsorship.  I don’t even race competitively.  I’m too busy having fun and being happy.  That’s what sobriety is all about…  Good, clean living in lieu of bad choices, sickness, dependence and mayhem.

I did end up with a cool bike though, but even that has ties back to recovery.  My bike is the biggest thing I’ve ever paid cash for:

32 One Hundred Dollar Bills laid on the counter.  My wife’s was the next biggest, though I wrote a check for that one, the novelty of the thick stack was done.  This is what happens when one chooses the path of recovery.  Good decisions tend to lead to good results.

The best I could manage as a drunk was delivering pizzas and living at my parents’ house.  I wasn’t very good at delivering pizzas.  Today my efforts provide good, high-paying jobs for dozens of families.

Back to writing… I was contacted last week by the publisher of an endurance sport magazine about a post I’d written a short time ago.  They want to publish my post, and not only that, I’ll be paid.  Not a lot, of course, but dude!

I took my bikes into the office yesterday to work on some better, cleaner pics to go with the article.

I don’t know if my post will become a real, honest to God article yet, but you can be sure that if it does I’ll let you know where it’s published… More, I hope, to come.

40 Comments

  1. essiep says:

    Best of luck with the publication. It’s a worthy story.
    The other side of the coin works for others around here. Some of us are prevented from entering dark times by cycling. Without it, I think I would have cracked up years ago.

  2. unironedman says:

    Just rewards! let us know how it pans out.

  3. saoirsek says:

    Fantastic, well done. Totally deserved.At my home group last evening there was more talk about triathlons and running pre.chair than drinking. Ya gotta love it!!

  4. So... says:

    Thrilled for you!
    That principle always works… keeping what we have by giving it away. Wish you many more clean miles on your bike.

  5. Kitty says:

    Excellent news and congratulations!

    I’ve a friend who found cycling and running helped him too. I think that was shortly before I first started following your blog. I’ve not been on here for a while but it was good to see you’ve stuck with it.

  6. Brent says:

    It’s always a great feeling of accomplishment to get your first paid byline, even after you’ve written a ton of stuff for free. I still remember my first paid article in a computer magazine decades ago.

  7. chape says:

    That´s great! Congrats, my friend 🙂

  8. Gail says:

    I am truly so happy for you. Squeeee!

  9. How cool! I’m happy for you. I love the message of fit recovery. I need to hear it more myself. I’m usually a if I’m recovering, all else will be OK kind of guy, which is never all the way true.

    • bgddyjim says:

      Thank you, Mark. I can’t put to words how much that means to me. Keep at the recovery, brother. Sometimes quickly, sometimes slowly. It will materialize if we work for it.

  10. browney237 says:

    You write from the heart and it shows!!!

  11. wanderwolf says:

    That’s great! Congratulations for the offer and good luck in the rest of the process.

  12. Head4Fitness says:

    Well done. You’ll have to let us know when it gets published. Is the magazine available over the pond?

    • bgddyjim says:

      I do not believe it’s available overseas but I’ll check. I just heard back yesterday from the publisher and he was stoked about the photos I’d sent in and said the post was over at the editor being worked on. I’ll let everyone know in a post what’s what when it gets settled. My article will likely appear in the March issue from what I’ve been told.

  13. fitnessgrad says:

    Congrats, that is awesome!

    Shay-lon

  14. Paul S says:

    This made me very happy to read, my friend! Congrats on the article. It’s cool to see your name in a magazine. And yes, we never know who we are going to touch with our blog posts. There are a ton of lurkers out there, scanning and absorbing what people are saying, wondering maybe if they can have a piece of that delicious sober pie and who are vulnerable. And we never know how our words can make a difference. (As for sponsoring, I only ever had one guy get through the steps!)

  15. tischcaylor says:

    Must’ve missed this earlier… congratulations! I know you don’t do this for the money but you’ve written many posts worth of publication in a paying venue.

Leave a Reply

