Fit Recovery

Home » Recovery » I will Never have to Relive this Day Again. Unless I Quit Quitting whatever it is I happen to be Quitting. Today.

I will Never have to Relive this Day Again. Unless I Quit Quitting whatever it is I happen to be Quitting. Today.

April 2017
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

I have had a long, long love affair with nicotine.  I quit smoking cigarettes something like 14 or 15 years ago.  That didn’t end the affair though.  There were short stints with chewing tobacco and longer stints smoking cigars but I’ve spent the most time using stop-smoking aids, nicotine gum and eventually the lozenges, which finally got me to a point I could quit everything.

Look at me now….

This little experience sucked.  For the nicotine substitutes, call it tobacco’s methadone, I settled in on the 4 mg lozenges after quitting cigars yet again…  Unlike past presidential truth stretchers, I’ll say unabashedly that I inhaled.  Deeply.  I wanted something with a little kick to take the edge off.

That worked just fine for a long time.  Out of the blue I grew bored with spending $25 a week on those stupid things (the generic brand – the exact same for Kroger, Meijer, and Walmart – works just as well and is not near as egregiously priced as Nicorette).  I switched to the 2 mg lozenge for a couple of months, then I was ready to finally give them up.

The first day sucked but the second day…. Oh, the joys of withdrawal.  I was miserable and I hurt all over.

The third day, most of the pain went away but I still spent much of the day fiending for something exceptionally bad for my overall health (funny how I didn’t want a lozenge).

I found a little relief on day four though, thank God.

Days five and six showed marked improvement and things got easier after that.

It’s been almost three weeks now (I’m not counting) and I’ve only gained a few pounds though I’m hungry.  A lot.  Here’s the concept that works for quitting anything:  Quitting sucks. Accept it.  As miserable as quitting and withdrawals are, I’ll never have to live through that crap again if I don’t pick up.  Let’s say I decide to smoke a cigar a few years from now.  I don’t do anything that’s bad for me half-assed, so I’d be hooked again in a matter of minutes (the same, only worse, goes for alcohol).  The concept is this;  The caboose can’t get me if I don’t step in front of the engine.

There is nothing worse than quitting something.  It sucks.  I hate it.  But as long as I keep quitting, I’ll never have to live through that sucky part again.

5 Comments

  1. @vapor_sage says:

    Congratulations, I gave up the smoke and took up vape, just over 2 years ago I’ve honestly never felt better, I’ve gotten down to 3mg e-liquid and am very close to letting that go as well. I can taste, smell and I no longer stink, and no withdrawal.

  2. Stay strong! You got this!

  3. heavyman927 says:

    I’m good a quitting bad habits. I’ve quit every one of them hundreds of times….

Leave a Reply

