Fit Recovery

Home » Cycling » The Ninth Commandment for the Cycling Enthusiast: Thou Shalt Maintain Thine Equipment

The Ninth Commandment for the Cycling Enthusiast: Thou Shalt Maintain Thine Equipment


Thou Shalt Maintain Thine Equipment

A clean bike is a bike to behold.  A clean bike is a quiet bike.  A clean bike is a solid bike.  A clean bike is a safe bike.  A clean, quiet, solid, safe bike to behold is a fun bike to ride.

Thou shalt keep it clean, lest one incur the rightful scorn of thy neighbor for thine squeaky drivetrain.

12 Comments

  1. Dino says:

    I think I’m obsessed to clean it. When people saw my bike they think it is brand new bike. 🙂

  2. fitnessgrad says:

    Oh Jim, loving the cleverness around the commandments. LOL only you would think outside the box like this! jeez 🙂

    A clean bike is like having a clean car, everyone wants their car to shine! 😀

    Shay-lon

  3. Anthony says:

    If you shine your bike up like that, does it make it rain like it does when I wash my car?

  4. getwifed says:

    I’m somewhat new to road biking I come from single track mountain bike racing but honey got me a nice TREK road bike after my first (sad) triathlon that I did on my mountain bike. With my beast of a mountain bike I hose it down throw some non-stick lube in its general direction and go back to driving through mud holes without much thought. To tell you a the truth I’m a little afraid of my delicate road bike. Other than wiping it down and keeping it greased what things should I be on the look out for? I plan on riding it a lot more this year and I don’t want to damage it. Any tips would be appreciated.

    • bgddyjim says:

      Use a torque wrench. If you don’t have one, Trek makes a 4mm torque tool (about $25) that’ll do for most bolts. Don’t over-tourqe. Keep it clean and lubed…. Check the “true” of the wheels regularly. And learn how to take it apart, clean and lube everything, and put it back together.

      Enjoy the road! It’s a lot of fun.

  5. For those who like bikes, wonderful! 🙂

Leave a Reply

