Fit Recovery

Home » Cycling » The Third Commandment for the Cycling Enthusiast:  Thou Shalt Remember Why We Ride in the First Place!

The Third Commandment for the Cycling Enthusiast:  Thou Shalt Remember Why We Ride in the First Place!

April 2017
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Thou Shalt Remember Why We Ride in the First Place

Many of us rode bicycles as children.  The bicycle is often a kid’s first taste of freedom.  While a bicycle can be used to get from point A to point B quickly and inexpensively, the cycling enthusiast uses their bicycle to get from point A back to point A in as many miles as time allows.

As I age and grow in cycling I’ve come to embrace the idea that seeing the world as I did when I was a child makes life as an adult enjoyable.  As I’ve surrounded myself with fit, active friends I’ve come to realize that fit, active people are happy people.

While I ride to get from point A to point B, or simply point A back to point A, I ride because it puts a smile on my face and a spring in my step.  I ride because it helps me to feel like a kid again, when the most important thing in the world was having some fun with my friends… if only for an hour or a few.

 

 

9 Comments

  1. Dino says:

    These photos are like the definition of happiness 🙂

  2. So... says:

    Love those smiles!

  3. every morning when i wake up i count 3 things i am grateful for the first 2 are always 1. I can ride a bike 2. I can read a book. The comedian/actor Michael Smiley said that if you are depressed when you start a cycle ride you won’t be when you’re finished. He is right, many times i have forced myself to go out on a bike ride, but as soon as my bum hits the saddle and i start pedaling i know i have done the right thing. MY bike ride today was over to the giants causeway (guess where I live) we did not have to pay the ridiculously high car park fee AND on return journey we (2 of us) stopped at a little ice-cream shop for a double scoop in a tub and we sat at harbour and enjoyed the view as we slurped the ice cream-not a bad day i thought

  4. As I go through the change in my life, I see the need to take that old hybrid that survived the move and convert it to a utility bike. The grocery store is a short ride away, as is the library and a forest preserve with riding paths. Ummmm… why was I saying this? Oh yeah, well, why I ride needs to be redefined a little bit, the utility of the bike needs to be rediscovered. I like it!

  5. gracieonmars says:

    Crazy coincidence: My boyfriend is a bicycle enthusiast (geek) and last week I asked him, “Why do you like bicycles so much”. He replied that when he got his first bike as a kid, it was his first taste of freedom. He could go anywhere as long as he was back by dark. I don’t share his passion but I admire his fitness. I want to be able to take long bike rides with him. I am trying to build endurance in the gym, so I will be ready when the time comes.

Leave a Reply

