Fit Recovery

Home » Cycling » A Gift from a Friend, from Ireland

A Gift from a Friend, from Ireland


I met a blogging couple from Ireland and we quickly became friends, over the web of course.  A while back, the Unironedman commented on a post about a phrase I used being made to go on a teeshirt:  A High-End Bike won’t Fix Low-End Legs

I responded that it already was on a shirt and that I’d send him one.  I also included one for his wife, a spin on Namaste, “Namacycliste“.

He’d asked me to send him the cost and my wife’s paypal account so he could make good on the shipping costs but I simply got busy and forgot.

Yesterday I came home to find a package from my friend in Ireland, which held a wooden spoon that he’d hand made along with a note about where he’d obtained the wood.

Being a carpenter by trade and a wood butcher by choice, words cannot describe my gratitude.  While it came with instructions for care should I choose to use it, it has a place on a special bookshelf in the foyer of our house where my wife and I display our memories.

17 Comments

  1. unironedman says:

    Shucks Jim, how could I not like that post? 🙂

  2. Cool! Meeting people on the journey while on the actual journey. Love that.

  3. and now I have a new blog to follow too-thanks folks

  4. saoirsek says:

    Sometime the wonder web delivers, maybe one day we’ll all take a bike ride/run together🙂

Leave a Reply

