Fit Recovery

Home » Cycling » And So Endeth the Streak: 56 Days Later

And So Endeth the Streak: 56 Days Later


My string of consecutive days on the bike will end (unless a miracle happens and we don’t get the scheduled thunderstorms with 20+ mph winds [ED. This was written yesterday]).  56 Days, 1,454 Miles (26 miles a day, roughly).  Truth be told, I suppose I’m ready for a day off.

March.JPG

April.JPG

Some observations:

The first few weeks in March were short miles and duration because it was so cold and rainy.  It was nasty.  Starting in April, though, I’ve managed better than 200 mile weeks.  I made up for March with April, that’s for sure.

Last March I managed 776 miles.  This March was 639.  On the other hand, last April was 730 miles and I’ve already got 815 miles in for this April (with four days left in the month).  This is my best April, in terms of fitness and mileage, yet.

I am exhibiting zero signs of over-training.  I am still having a blast every time I go out on the bike and I’m as fast and strong as I’ve ever been.  The only thing that saves me is recovery rides, three of them, throughout the week.  This is my second year of putting in long streaks of consecutive days and as long as I stick to my plan (easy rides Monday, Wednesday and Thursday or Friday), I have no problem riding every day.

Lastly, I maintain a balance with life and cycling.  Cycling definitely makes having a wonderful wife, two fantastic kids and a good job even better!  I like to make sure to keep my priorities straight, let’s just say that.  Cycling makes the good stuff better.

UPDATE!!!  Hold the phone!

I got, for the first time in 42 years, a poison ivy rash last weekend after cutting down a dead tree in the back yard on Sunday.  On Monday it wasn’t a big deal.  A few spots and a little itch.  By Wednesday it was worse.  Yesterday was an explosion of itch on my legs.  It was unbearable.  I was given a prescription for Prednisone.  That’s right, baby!  Wiggins and Froome couldn’t get away with that on a TUE!  Steroids.

I thew back the first dose the second I got home and as I did the clouds and rain that had  been on and off all day, cleared up.  Even the roads dried.  I readied the good bike, got dressed and rolled.  The streak continues!

It’ll be over on Sunday though.  100% chance of showers and thunderstorms….  Unless we end up with a window, of course…  Stranger things have happened.  There should have been no way I was riding yesterday but I did.

57 days and counting!

UPDATE:  39 more this morning.  58.

10 Comments

  1. Kecia says:

    I hope the poison ivy heals up quick! If I see the stuff I break out in a serious rash and need a shot to get rid of it! Thanks for not sharing it with me electronically! If there was a way to get it from you a few states away, I’m sure I’d be the one to do it! 😉

  2. Gail says:

    You were just itching for a ride…..

  3. MJ Ray says:

    I never realised you didn’t hold any sort of racing licence. I guess I should have noticed that you don’t do TTs like it seems most club riders over here do.

    • bgddyjim says:

      Nope, no racing licenses for us. We ride that fast for fun. To be straight up, some of the guys do hold racing licenses, but they actually race. Most of those guys are Cat 3 and 4. We have a Cat 1 and a Cat 2 as well.

Leave a Reply

