Fit Recovery

Home » Cycling » 60 MPB!  A New PB!

60 MPB!  A New PB!


Okay, so last Sunday was supposed to be a mess, weatherwise, so we did our long ride on Saturday.  It was a good ride.  Not really fast but definitely not slow either.

Anyway, I’ve always claimed that I get 25 Miles Per Banana riding my bike (it actually is a tee-shirt).  I really did a century on just four bananas (and a bunch of water) to prove I could do it.

Well, we had a great group for Saturday’s planned 60 miler and it was simply a blast.  We were 56 miles in before I realized I’d only eaten one banana!  I figured I may as well make it the full 60 even though I was famished.  So now I get 60 MPB.  Kind of.  Truth be told, I ate quite a bit for breakfast after the ride.

On another non-silly side of cycling, we’re starting to attract some of the A riders over to our B group.  As it turns out, my reasoning behind sticking with the B group, about not wanting to “suffer” so much on a bike ride, is attracting some of the A guys over.  We all love long bike rides but it takes a special kind of person to want to do it with their tongue dangling inches from their spokes.  I am not one of them.

Not that there’s anything wrong with that.  

18 Comments

  1. unironedman says:

    Why do I somehow feel that hyperlink was aimed at my direction 😉

  2. Dan says:

    Yours is healthier than my 20 miles per cookie, but I like mine better! I have a shirt too, but my wife had it made for me.

  3. Back on the bike with abandon!

  4. fitnessgrad says:

    Wow!
    60 miles?! holy shit! that seems like a hike! I love it! I have never rode for 60 miles , let alone walk I don’t think and well.. shit, that is amazing Jim! I love that you made it and did it on one banana! lmao

    Shay-lon

  5. Sue Slaght says:

    I love that some of the others are coming ot the B group. Life’s too short for your tongue to be hanging out all the time. Not that there is anything wrong with that as you say. 🙂

  6. Hi, I am brand new to your blog! I had a few questions like, club you cycle with and what divides the groups? Also, do you have any tips for people wanting to join a club or get more involved?

    • bgddyjim says:

      Hello, Ryan. I ride with The Genesee Wanderers. We divide the group by speed generally speaking. We don’t do ride leaders, we don’t do enforced max speeds or averages… We’re a VERY loose-knit group and we have some very fast cyclists, though our club is extremely diverse.

      My tips for anyone wanting to join a club are as follows:
      1. Learn to ride in a straight line.
      2. Know what you want (do you want structure or fast – because typically you can’t have both).
      3. Get in touch with the owners of your local bike shop – they will know which club to put you in based on what you want.
      4. Do not get involved in the workings of the club – it’s like making hotdogs… Everybody loves hotdogs except the people who make them because they know all of the dirty little secrets. Suit up, show up, and ride. Save the hotdog making for the politicians in the group.

      • MJ Ray says:

        4 sucks man. Plenty of people are stuck making the dogs long after they’re sick of the feel of minced pork because the selfish SOBs turning up to eat won’t help even when they could. Then all too often, some politician comes along, starts “helping”, which finally pees the burnt out makers enough that they finally quit and the club either collapses or gets taken over by the politician and friends.

        What is it they say? Anyone who wants power should be kept as far away from it as possible…

        So please, help out. Just in a small way for a limited time (1 year in 4, for example, or just for one event each year) although you’ll probably need to be firm but polite about that. Ask those stuck stuffing tubes what you could do. Keep the riders running the club and not the politicians.

      • bgddyjim says:

        Brother, I’m marking this day in my calendar. You and I are in complete agreeance. The only reason I didn’t resign as my club’s president was to keep the politicians from taking over!

Leave a Reply

