Fit Recovery

Home » Cycling » How Good does that Cup of Coffee Taste?

How Good does that Cup of Coffee Taste?


It’s 6 am on a Saturday and I’m prepping my bike for another long day on the road.  I feel like a kid as I sip on my cup of coffee.  It tastes good.


You just woke up to the alarm.  It’s Monday morning and you’ve got a firestorm waiting for you at work.  How good does that first cup of coffee taste?

It’s Friday.  You’re out with your spouse and just had the best dinner you’ve ever eaten.  The a waiter brings you the perfect cup of after-dinner coffee.  How good does that cup of coffee taste?

You’ve finally decided that you can’t take being a drunk any longer.  You’re at your first meeting.  You’re hung-over, pissed and scared.  How good does that cup of coffee taste?

You just celebrated 20 years sober.  You’re with friends and family and you feel like you just won the lotto.  How good does that cup of coffee taste?

You had cancer.  You needed a good portion of your innards removed to get the cancer out of you, but the surgery was successful and you just got done with your first set of physical rehab.  You’re out on the town after seven weeks of poking, prodding and cutting.  You’re sitting down for your first cup of coffee since you got out.  How good do you think that cup of coffee is going to taste?

I think it’d be pretty damn yummy.

Just a thought.

14 Comments

  1. So... says:

    Nothing like a good cup of coffee ☕️

  2. heavyman927 says:

    lol I was in the hospital for a week and almost died and the only thing I could think of was getting my first cup of coffee!

  3. I had a sleep deprived EEG no coffee for 12 hours, right after how good does that cup coffee taste. Both of my kids are Barista’s while in school. We are coffee conisuers up here in the P.N.W. Drive-thru espresso stands are a dime a dozen. Yeah you are 40, newly sober school is now your day. You were up all night not in write for the assignment, that was a breeze. It was the formatting it that took hour upon hour. How good does that cup of coffee taste. I am commenting in word press, and pursuing around. My cup of coffee tastes awesome, thank you! Coffee, the finer things in life! Great post! ☕

  4. Exactly! It’s just that good!!!

  5. wanderwolf says:

    Coffee is one of those socially acceptable (and sober acceptable) drugs! It’s just so damn good, and magnified by all those scenarios.

  6. Sue Slaght says:

    I am with you Jim. I love that first cup of coffee and am mindfully grateful every time I have it. I can only imagine what such challenges in life would do to the gratitude factor.

    • bgddyjim says:

      Sadly, I really think the gratitude factor is a choice. See, I’m one of those, “man, this coffee tastes awesome” kind of guys – especially when it comes to recovery. The cancer guy in my post is real and he wasn’t all that impressed… Geez, I’m grateful just for being on the right side of the grass! I expected he’d have been the same.

  7. Gail says:

    I love a good allegory. Grateful is how we should always strive to be. Harder some days than others, but digging deep has its rewards.

Leave a Reply

