Fit Recovery

Home » Cycling » A 1,000 Mile May… and Body Perceptions. 

A 1,000 Mile May… and Body Perceptions. 

June 2017
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

1003 miles in 31 days.  Better than 30 miles a day, on average.  I needed every one of those 31 to hit that thousand mile mark though.

It wasn’t easy, of course.  We had a mountain bike day or two because it was too windy, but in the end, just Wednesday evening, I crossed over the mark.

Screenshot_20170531-180632

With all of those miles, you’d think I’d be feeling like the handsome devil I often write about being.  After all, I burned seventeen pounds worth of calories last month.  The unfortunate trick (Michael Mann, please call your office) is that I think I ate an extra sixteen pounds of food.

My wife says I look fantastic but I feel a little chubby.  The scale and BMI (both old and new) say I’m healthy but I don’t see it when I look in the mirror.  So there’s a particular jersey I own, a pro-fit jersey that I make look good when I’m fit:

The jersey sat in my cycling kit drawer all spring long because I knew it would be too tight.  Well, I pulled it out and put it on for my Thousand Mile May ride… and it fit better than when the photo above was taken.

Shows you how much I know about what I’m supposed to look like in the mirror.

Isn’t that funny, really?  Scale says I’m good.  The internet says my BMI is good.  The doctor says I’m ridiculously healthy (weight wise, my ticker is a different story, maybe)…. but I look in the mirror and see fat.

All over covfefe.

Go figurfufu.

Ah well, if we didn’t have something to work on, wouldn’t life be bland?

10 Comments

  1. Healthy is what it’s all about! Lookin good! 🙂

  2. Sue Slaght says:

    Looking healthy and strong. I hear you though about how we see ourselves. A goal we can all work on.

  3. fitnessgrad says:

    Hey Jim!
    I have chosen to nominate you for the Blue Skies tag, you may choose to accept or decline this tag. The following link will have the details: https://fitness9555.wordpress.com/2017/06/02/blue-sky-tag/

    figured I would nominate you for something fun!

    Shay-lon

  4. wanderwolf says:

    I get the body perception thing. It’s a pain, because it brings down what should be an awesome feeling. I discovered that a lot of it is bloating due to the extra activity (i.e. all that riding leads to a lot of water in and out and the muscles get a bit…poofy). But after a day of rest…bam! All the tautness in full glory. 🙂 the setback: have to take a day off. 😉
    Great month, Jim!!

Leave a Reply

