Fit Recovery

Home » Cycling » I don’t have to be the fastest, best cyclist out there….

I don’t have to be the fastest, best cyclist out there….


I am so ridiculously grateful to be me….  I don’t have to be the best, fastest cyclist out there.  I don’t have to ride 200-300 miles a day, chasing an illusive record.  I don’t need to be better than anyone else.

I ride like I do sobriety.

The best of my ability is just right, and is all that is necessary.  What matters, when I lay my head down on my pillow and snuggle up next to my wife, is that I want to do tomorrow just like I did today.

That’s how I know I got it right.

P.S.  I know the differences between elusive and illusive.  I used the proper word.

9 Comments

  1. Haha. Grateful to be me as well! And grateful to know you.

  2. I hadn’t really thought about how endurance sports and sobriety have so much in common. You’re so right though, it’s our own journey and that is freeing and awesome. Thanks!

  3. joliesattic says:

    In other words it for pure enjoyment and not some macho ego trip. I like that.

Leave a Reply

