Fit Recovery

Home » Cycling » Twenty Years of Wedded Bliss

Twenty Years of Wedded Bliss

June 2017
M T W T F S S
« May    
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

I met the woman who would be my wife in 1995.  I was three years into my sobriety back then.  We started dating in August.  We were engaged Cristmas Day…  And the rest is history, as they say.

We went through some very difficult times, my wife and I.  We both had faults and before things got too dicey, decided to fix our own faults rather than concentrate on the other’s and it’s been golden since.  It’s not without pitfalls and work, but now that we have something genuinely worth preserving, we are more likely to look at how to concentrate on our own flaws and fixing them rather than fixing blame on the other.


My wife is the one person for me.  She is my best friend.  The sun rises and sets on her, in my world, and I’m not afraid to tell her this regularly.


Today we get to celebrate more than just 20 years together (and looking forward to 20 more).  Maybe you noticed I’ve been rocking pink water bottles lately:


My wife got the “all clear” just yesterday afternoon.

In closing, I’d like to share the two things I took to heart when offered by friends/mentors that have helped me love my wife more than anything else:

  1.  Sometimes you want to throw ’em like a dart, but you just gotta love ’em.  Shortened, “You just gotta love ’em.
  2. If not for my wife’s faults, she would have picked a better guy.
37 Comments

  1. unironedman says:

    Good news indeed. Though of course, the pink bottles clash somethin’ awful with the red 😉

  2. Congratulations! Cheers to 20 more!

  3. Congrats! 20 years is big and wonderful–so much life. Thanks for sharing.

  4. tischcaylor says:

    You guys are inspiring — congrats!

  5. How beautiful! Happy Anniversary to you both!

  6. saoirsek says:

    Wonderful wonderful wonderful. Sending big congrats 🙂

  7. I love this post. Congrats to you both!

  8. Wow how awesome is God!! So happy to hear of stories such as there. Congrats, she was prettier than any bike💁❤

  9. I meant she is way prettier than any bike. Golly

  10. damien says:

    Great news, on all counts!

  11. So... says:

    Happy Anniversary to you both!

  12. Sue Slaght says:

    Happy Anniversary and big congrats!

  13. Congrats man, a true inspiration.

    And the pink bottles rock hard! Keep em! 🙂

  14. Sheree says:

    Congratulations! We’re celebrating 40 years this September and I still wonder where the time’s gone.

  15. tripleclicka says:

    Congratulations and I love number two!

  16. Manu Stanley says:

    Congrats once again my dear friend. 🙂

  17. Looks like congrats are in order for more than one reason. Pink bottles are cool. I love how you build up your wife and are aware of the blessings she brings you.

Leave a Reply

