Fit Recovery

Home » Cycling » Looking Forward to the Easy Days on the Bikes

Looking Forward to the Easy Days on the Bikes

June 2017
M T W T F S S
« May    
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Since I began riding bicycles, which morphed into becoming a full-blown cyclist, I have loved going fast.  All of my training centered around doing everything I could to be faster.  Fast days were 20-21 mph averages.  “Slow” active recovery rides we rarely, if ever, below an 18 mph average.  I rode alone for the first three years, with rare exception – and I rode fast.  Within two years of road biking I was holding a 21 mph average on my own for 30 miles.

20170501_140916

After three years, almost four, I finally got my cycling legs (as they were described by my friend and the owner of our local bike shop).  “Cycling legs” describe a state of cycling fitness where one’s legs finally become accustomed to the constant effort of daily cycling.  Simply put, cycling legs recover faster from greater effort, day after day – it’s as if the body finally becomes accustomed to the regular effort.  Cycling legs are awesome.

20170606_091003

I like my bikes fast, light and low…. and red on black.  And clean.

I will always love going fast – taking a corner leaning so far that I have to throw my inside knee out to get that extra little bit of pull through the apex always reminds me of being a kid.  I can’t imagine I’ll ever grow tired of that.  

This year has been special though.  Some of my friends are starting to slow down a little bit and we have a few women who ride with us, my wife being one of course, so we’re just not cranking out the average speeds like we used to (except on Tuesday nights) and surprisingly, that’s not such a bad thing.  I have to spend a lot more time up front to get a proper workout, but all that takes is a little want to and a desire to move air for my friends so they can ride faster.

20170527_103217

That said, I’ve been enjoying the slower rides these days.  Riding with my wife and friends and being able to look at something other than the butt in front of me (not so bad when it’s my wife’s butt, butt I digress), has been really nice.  I get done with a little gas left in the tank so I’m not cooked for the rest of the day and I have a lot more fun while I’m riding.

There are only a couple of times where the slower cycling is no bueno:  Tuesday night and the century.  Tuesday night is that one day a week where it’s good to finish with my tongue dangling only inches from my spokes.  It’s the ride to let it all hang out.  The century, 100 miles (not 100km), is the second.  6-1/2 hour centuries get a little old.  I can hang for the 5-6 hour century but any longer than six, I just want to get it done and have a tough time refraining from putting the hammer down.  Lastly, when it comes to weight management, faster rides mean better weight loss and being able to get away with eating more.  It just is what it is.

There once was a time I disagreed with the idea of riding below one’s ability.  I believed in pushing the pace, in constantly working to go faster.  My attitude has softened a little bit, mainly because I’ve found that riding a little slower is actually a lot of fun – and in the end, having fun is what cycling is all about.

8 Comments

  1. saoirsek says:

    Lovely post, myself and UM are just heading out for a sea swim🙂

  2. emptynestman says:

    Nice. Curating for the tribe.

  3. […] Source: Looking Forward to the Easy Days on the Bikes « Fit Recovery […]

  4. Do you not think I have God that holds me accountable? Also my own husband. I do not lack discernment of the failings of man or how far one can fall. You misread my writing. To say you see through me is arrogant. You don’t even know me or my heart. I did add a disclaimer to that post. It was meant to say I may not recover if I ever, which wow I sure could fall again into the bottle. I pray before I write, and push publish. You say these things maybe it is you who needs to look in your own heart. I am taken back. I am not above reproach but you said things that are so far from truth. I will not time it down, God has called me to speak loud, and clear. For years my writing was put aside because of my drinking. I will do exaclty as the Lord has called me to do. Share my story. He did have me wait almost years before I could begin to write. My Lord as well as my own family is my accountability. Certainly not a man who has glimpes here and there. I am no fool to say or think never. Not a word I would ever use. My life has been full repeats. It was a picture God gave me of what my life will be if I ever do indeed fall. So I pray never. I am not some 20 year old kid. But apparently not as wise as you. No man should ever if you read the Bible approach a woman the way you did. I could careless that you got your wifes approval. This is a blog. We are not at church, and still you came about it all wrong. I made a phone call soon after to make sure I was not out of line or missing something. I say to you check your heart. The words you spoke so thought out, were not even kind. Blessings in to you, Lisa. My story is still being written as is yours.

  5. Sandra says:

    I felt the same way as you did, although I was not, nor will I be ever, as fast as you. When I bought the fat bike, I really couldn’t push the speed–those 4.7″ tires don’t allow me to do what 23cm tires and ultegra components allow. But I gotta tell ya, I love just looking around and noticing the little things in life. Things that make me happy: butterflies, flowers, the scenery that I pass by as it changes through the seasons, critters and birds, the changing farm fields as plants grow, leaves growing-maturing-turning colors-falling. I appreciate these so much more at a slower speed–but the fattie keeps me pedaling hard the whole time.

    I still love speed–but I am happy doing both. Just like you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

