Fit Recovery

Home » Cycling » Hold the Front Door, with the Phone… err Somethin’!  A Stroke of Luck + a New, Old Saddle on the 5200 = Butter!

Hold the Front Door, with the Phone… err Somethin’!  A Stroke of Luck + a New, Old Saddle on the 5200 = Butter!

June 2017
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

After the Northwest Tour and having my butt in a saddle that I put up with rather than enjoyed, 200 miles in three days, I decided I needed a change.  That Selle Italia just wasn’t getting it, and now that I have the bike dialed in so well I want to spend more time on it.  Not an exciting prospect with the Selle.

Now, the idea was to get through this with as little as cost as possible.  I thought about taking my Specialized Romin off of the tandem and putting it on the Trek but I love that saddle on the tandem.  Then I remembered the old Cannondale sitting out in the garage.  I figured it was worth a try.

I took the level reading with my handy-dandy app (-3.6%).  Unfortunately, like a dope, I was so excited to give it a try, I forgot to measure the distance from the saddle to the center of the handlebar.  Doh!  I took the measurement from the Venge.  22-3/8″.  

I set it, nosed it up to -1.7% because it’s a contoured saddle, and called it good.  I figured I’d try it to see how it felt.  

I took it for a ride yesterday evening and… 

Butter.  It was one of those, “Why didn’t I switch that out sooner” moments.  Riding the Trek is different, but almost as comfortable as the Venge now.

Why indeed.

Eventually I’ll probably trade that saddle for something a little more Bontrager, butt for now, at least I can be comfortable, and when one is cranking out 220+ miles a week, comfort is king.

Oh, I almost forgot the stroke of luck!

I keep written records of my bike’s measurements at my office.  Top tube to tip of saddle, saddle tip to center of hanflebar, saddle height (exactly 36-3/8″), etc.  I checked my sheet yesterday and the old saddle was set on the Trek at 22-1/4″.  The new measurement matches the Venge, as I wrote earlier, 22-3/8″.  I still have to check my knee angle over the pedal axle (because that dictates the saddle position), that it works, but I was surprised to have enjoyed the extra reach on my ride yesterday….  Go figure!

Here are some contrast and compare photos….  I could have cheated the angle of the camera to show whatever I wanted but I didn’t.  You’ll just have to take my word on it.

Leave a Reply

