Fit Recovery

Home » 2017 » July » 02

Daily Archives: July 2, 2017

Social Constructs and Alcoholism:  There Exists no Room for Social Constructs.

Trigger (heh) Warning:  Reading of this post may cause snowflakes to melt and could, possibly, necessitate seeking out a safe space in which to curl up into the fetal position and suck one’s thumb.  You have been trigger (heh) warned.

I read an interesting post that got me thinking about supposed “Social Constructs” and how they affect me.  The notion, at least to me, seems pretty simple, if a bit sissified.  “Society” forms the basis by which we view our own reality.

All I can say is, some people have too much time to think….

As a recovering alcoholic, the first thing we learn about ourselves is that our lives are run on self will.  That we are a selfish, self-centered lot.  The nexus for continuing this destructive thought pattern is believing that how we view the world is the fault of something else.  It does, however, make for an impressively large victim class.

Sadly, being a recovering alcoholic of more than two decades, coming up on two-and-a-half, I know there are a few things we don’t do well.  Being a victim would be one, righteous indignation would be another.  Drinking alcohol is right up there with those first two.  More to the point, the first two lead to the third in terms of recovery.

It just is what it is.

Besides, once one realizes that blaming one’s perception of reality on “Social Constructs” is just another way of the tail wagging the dog into yet another social construct, the whole business becomes silly….  Even if I did accept that my perception of reality hinges on a social construct, I couldn’t do anything about it because I abuse righteous indignation even more than being a victim.  And alcohol.

Dammit!

Alas, I know my recovery constructed answer:  Dude, let the whirling dirvishes whirl.  I’m having too much fun to worry about who constructed what – and that is as it should be.

