Fit Recovery

Home » 2017 » July » 10

Daily Archives: July 10, 2017

A Quick Note about Cycling Skin Suits

I’d like to offer my opinion on skin suits as I’m starting to see them pop up quite frequently at supported rides and/or grand fondos…  Now, this is just my opinion.

Yes, skin suits do make one a touch faster.  There’s no doubt about that.

There’s also a 90% chance that even for a seasoned cyclist, your gut is too big and you’re too fat to wear one.

I’m too fat and I look pretty damn skippy in a tight-fitting standard kit.  Heck, My regular swimsuit is a freakin’ Speedo and I won’t wear a skin suit

I’m the one in the Cavelo Jersey on the right.

Look, Lycra is bad enough.  Those skin suits are for people with a perfect physique.  Perfect….

That photo was taken earlier in the season when I still had a few extra winter burgers on me and I look passable in a standard kit.  A skin suit shows if you’ve had three pieces of extra baconfor breakfast that morning.

With that in mind, if you need that extra few seconds per mile to keep up with your friends, then by all means…  Just know, to make that look good, you need a last name of Sagan, Kittel or Cavendish.  

This goes for too skinny as well, by the way.  Just look at Chris “I’m a piece if Spaghetti” Froome.

Folks, regular tight cycling kit is good enough… Also, while they may be a little more difficult in terms of logistics, bib shorts will actually help hide those winter burgers.  

This has been a public service announcement.