Fit Recovery

Home » Cycling » A Quick Note about Cycling Skin Suits

A Quick Note about Cycling Skin Suits

July 2017
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

I’d like to offer my opinion on skin suits as I’m starting to see them pop up quite frequently at supported rides and/or grand fondos…  Now, this is just my opinion.

Yes, skin suits do make one a touch faster.  There’s no doubt about that.

There’s also a 90% chance that even for a seasoned cyclist, your gut is too big and you’re too fat to wear one.

I’m too fat and I look pretty damn skippy in a tight-fitting standard kit.  Heck, My regular swimsuit is a freakin’ Speedo and I won’t wear a skin suit

I’m the one in the Cavelo Jersey on the right.

Look, Lycra is bad enough.  Those skin suits are for people with a perfect physique.  Perfect….

That photo was taken earlier in the season when I still had a few extra winter burgers on me and I look passable in a standard kit.  A skin suit shows if you’ve had three pieces of extra baconfor breakfast that morning.

With that in mind, if you need that extra few seconds per mile to keep up with your friends, then by all means…  Just know, to make that look good, you need a last name of Sagan, Kittel or Cavendish.  

This goes for too skinny as well, by the way.  Just look at Chris “I’m a piece if Spaghetti” Froome.

Folks, regular tight cycling kit is good enough… Also, while they may be a little more difficult in terms of logistics, bib shorts will actually help hide those winter burgers.  

This has been a public service announcement.

9 Comments

  1. @vapor_sage says:

    Some just have to have the latest gear in any pastime

  2. AndrewGills says:

    LOL.
    I’m currently carrying too many winter burgers even for a cycling shirt so won’t even consider a skin suit. I’ll stick to running shirts for a little while until I can carry off even lycra. Haha

  3. Sheree says:

    Only pros can carry off this look.

  4. Plus most skinsuits don’t have pockets for storage. They’re for racing and mostly time trials at that. No place for skinsuits on a sportive!

    The San Remo style Speedsuits the pros wear on stage races are a little better – they’re an aero jersey and bibs sewn together and have (super tight) pockets for a little storage. I wear one when I’m on the TT bike. Aero and super comfortable. But I look #totallypro of course… 😉

Leave a Reply

