Fit Recovery

Home » Cycling » The Realization that Your Work is Done, the Bikes are Perfect, there’s Nothing left to do.

The Realization that Your Work is Done, the Bikes are Perfect, there’s Nothing left to do.

July 2017
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Of course, now that I write this post I’m sure to be @$$ deep in bike problems in three…. two…. one…..

I walked into the bike room Friday afternoon, looking for something to tinker with. Bar tape, indexing of a derailleur, a minor brake adjustment, even wiping one of the two bikes down.

Nothing. Chains are clean and lubed, the bikes are immaculate, the brakes are perfectly centered, front and rear derailleurs are perfectly indexed…. Headsets are perfectly square and tightened down. Actually, speaking of squaring a headset/fork/handlebar, I can give you a simple cheat to get your stem and handlebar perfectly lined up with the fork. First line your stem up to your tire, eyeball it like most normal people do, then mount the bike and look down at the bar top and how it relates to the front wheel hub:

If you’re more than a quarter of a degree off, you should be able to see it easily. Line the front edge of the handlebar with the hub and tighten the stem screws down.

While this is obviously a good place to be, this is actually a sad time for me. I don’t need anything. I’ve got great wheels, nice, clean bikes, saddles that work excellently on each of my bikes – and everything is mechanically sound, my components match the bike they belong to and my colors are perfect throughout the stable… I’ve even got five kits in rotation, all but one matches the paint scheme of the bikes – and that one is a 2012 Colorado Challenge jersey (the year I bought the 5200 in the photo above) and I’ve got my USA Jersey for 4th of July rides…

There is one glowing bit of awesomeness that rises higher than simply having a few nice bikes though: All I have left to do is ride.

That’s a really good place to be..

7 Comments

  1. unironedman says:

    Well then, it’s time for a renovation project. Get yourself an old frame and strip it down and build it up again. That’s a really nice Winter project. It’s going to be a training bike/touring bike. Have a crack at an old steel frame and down-tube shifters. It’ll be a conversation piece if nothing else. There must be a few vintage American frame-builders. Failing that, go old school and get a classic European frame.
    P.S. By the time you read this, you will have snapped a cable for sure. Or got a pinch flat. Has to happen…

    • bgddyjim says:

      Got a pinch flat last night. Then my CO2 dispenser failed so I went through two canisters before another cyclist stopped, gave me a third canister and let me use his dispenser…. It was almost comical. I thought about doing a steel frame… Thinking modern components though. I hate down tube or even stem mounted shifters. ;D

      • unironedman says:

        Well down-tube shifters are an odd one for sure, but they get major kudos on the road. Well, from cyclists in the know I guess. Just think back to the day when the tour cyclists would flip their back wheel around to get the other gear – the one for getting up the mountains. We are rather spoiled these days…

      • bgddyjim says:

        Oh, there’s no doubt we’re spoiled nowadays! I intend to continue that new tradition too!

  2. Sheree says:

    You could always pop round to check out our bikes.

Leave a Reply

