Fit Recovery

Home » Recovery » Just in Case You forgot that King Alcohol is Out there Kicking Ass….

Just in Case You forgot that King Alcohol is Out there Kicking Ass….

August 2017
M T W T F S S
« Jul    
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Mrs. Bgddy’s cousin passed away this morning from complications due to acute, chronic alcoholism.  

She was 44 years-old.

God, I offer myself to Thee, to build with me and do with me as Thou wilt.  Please, take away my difficulties, that victory over them may bear witness to those I help in Thy power, Thy love, and Thy way of life.  May I do your will always [because the alternative tends to suck – ED].

R.I.P.

18 Comments

  1. elisariva says:

    I am so sorry for your loss.

  2. Sandra says:

    I am so sorry for her (and your) loss. 😦

  3. Brent says:

    Ugh. Hard enough to lose someone from my local circle of meetings who went out again (it happens once or twice a year). I can’t imagine how miserable it is to lose family to this disease. Even if you weren’t close, when it’s family, you can almost hear the footsteps of the disease sneaking around. Please accept my condolences.

    Her death reminds me yet again that we can’t keep still and get complacent. Being in fit spiritual condition is like being fit for the bike — gotta keep exercising or that fitness will turn to flab.

  4. chape says:

    Sorry for your loss.
    Big hug!

  5. saoirsek says:

    Thanks for sharing this at what must be an incredibly difficult time. My God, so young. We are so lucky to be sober today, that 3 rd step prayer is powerful. It reminds us that self reliance doesn’t work. Sending love to you both from us both X

    • bgddyjim says:

      Thank you, sincerely. The scary part is that lacking one decision and an attempted bargain with the HP, that could have been me…. Wow.

      Thank you.

  6. Tony says:

    So sorry for your loss. That seems like such a young age.

  7. like everyone else -so sorry to hear that.

  8. Gail says:

    Sorry for your loss. I know the heartbreak of this intimately. Unfortunately alcoholism runs rampant in my lineage.

  9. Paul S says:

    I am so sorry to hear, Jim. This is awful. Alcoholism kills, and it kills all the time. I am blessed to have made that 3rd step decision. I say that prayer (and the 7th step one) upon awakening every day, to remind myself that I’m not in charge. I pray for your family’s healing.

Leave a Reply

