Fit Recovery

Home » Cycling » My Dad says Our Insurance doesn’t have [Road-side Service to change my tire]… Huh?! WHAT?!

My Dad says Our Insurance doesn’t have [Road-side Service to change my tire]… Huh?! WHAT?!

August 2017
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

I’m referring to an auto insurance commercial that touts its road-side service portion of the policy.  In doing so, the commercial has a mother talking about how good it is that their son didn’t have to change his own flat tire.  After, the commercial cuts to two other stranded teenage boys who neither know how to change a tire, nor have the road side service….  One asks the other what a lug wrench is.

Boys, let me get this out there right now;  If you can’t change a tire on or about your sixteenth birthday, you need to pull your balls out of your mom’s purse and give it a go.  If you can’t change a tire, you’re a disgrace to testosterone, so learn.  I was changing alternators on my car with my dad at sixteen for God’s sake.

This has been a public service announcement from Fit Recovery.  No charge.

 

18 Comments

  1. Hahahahahahahaha. Self reliance is overrated in 2017 and it’s a sad thing, because these helpless boys grow up to be privileged men who cannot understand why their woman will not give up the reigns and let them be the dominant big daddy in their relationship or family life. 😂

  2. biking2work says:

    …”you need to pull your balls out of your mom’s purse and give it a go….” S.O.L.I.D G.O.L.D!!! You could extend that to mending a puncture-I was doing that by 12 years old thanks to the perseverance of my Dad

  3. A lack of solid male role models and father figures.

    But that’s a whole other topic!

  4. unironedman says:

    I’d extend that to include everyone who drives. It should be part of the driving test. Of course, over in the civilised part of the world (where we spell civilised with an ‘s’), we call that a wheel brace. 😉
    Not that it matters if you don’t know where to find it, or how to use it, of course.

  5. OmniRunner says:

    Yup. But they are selling insurance so they want to scare parents. Just preying on fears.

  6. My daughter could change a tire at 16 and is embarrassed to have to ask for help. The boy is 18 and the only thing he knows how to do is call his mother. That commercial makes me wince.

  7. Archetype says:

    Well said Jim! Changing a flat was one of the first things I learned to do BEFORE I had my license. Back then… you could actually take apart the carbs, change plugs, fuel filters, and rotor caps It was actually interesting and fun. (Obviously unless it’s an oldy… no more of dong that!) lol. But at LEAST be able to change a tire indeed….

    While I do blame the parents first and foremost or whoever is raising these ‘boys’ (ahem) the big corporations, the government doesn’t really want young capable men, UNLESS it is for doing their bidding, by killing people.

    Helpless ‘men’ and I use that term loosely, are not a threat to the powers-that-be. This is why the he/she change is ENCOURAGED by the government and corporations (think corporate policies towards transgenders now) The meeker a society is, the easier it becomes to further control/enslave.

    This is no conspiracy my friend, this IS happening as we speak. I won’t even get into the robotic soldiers that the military is working on (as well as China and Russia)

    Changing a tire (or not being able or not being encouraged to) is a simple, basic analogy of what is happening on a larger scope. Western civilisation is being destroyed from within, NOT by some archaic, unorganized rag-tag group of extreme middle easterners… Sadly, and to most peoples reluctance to believe, it is western governments and multi-global corporations who are the real enemies here.

  8. joliesattic says:

    Sad to say, but I’ve been able to do more things than any man I’ve ever been with!! Of course, I’ve dated younger men, but even so, “What’s with that?”

  9. NoWineImFine says:

    Can’t change a tyre?!? Surely this isn’t true. Is it?!!
    Love your work my friend, keep it up xoxo

Leave a Reply

