Fit Recovery

Home » Cycling » Cyclists, You MUST Read this Post:  How to Get a Dangerous Train Crossing Repaired. Seriously.

Cyclists, You MUST Read this Post:  How to Get a Dangerous Train Crossing Repaired. Seriously.

August 2017
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

I should start with the fact that this is how we do it in the US.

When you roll over your local train crossing, do you say a short prayer that you’ll keep the rubber side down?  How about maybe that you keep all of the air in said rubber, in said tubes, and down?

Then this post is for you.  This is how you get that problem fixed for the safety of your community and cyclists who visit your town…. and you.

Roll up to that intersection and pull out your camera/phone and look underneath the “Stop On Red Signal” you should find a sign that looks like this:

I blue’d out the actual numbers….

Call the 800 Number and formally log a complaint, giving the DOT number shown on the blue tag.  Done.

This simple process is the best, quickest way to get a crossing repaired.

Here’s the trick, and the one time I can recall being happy about government regulation:  I have it on authority that federal regulation mandates a formal complaint about the crossing must be corrected before the ticket can be closed.

The railroads and the federal government don’t like open tickets.

I should add, please be nice.  They don’t know your anger.  Whomever it is on the other side of the phone didn’t do anything to ignore the deterioration of your local crossing.  It’s not their fault.  They just know your anger makes you ugly.  Be courteous when you call with your complaint.  Please.

5 Comments

  1. Sue Slaght says:

    I definitely take a deep breath at train crossings. I wonder if a similar process is available in Canada. I’ll be looking for signs at the next railway crossing I pass. I agree always be nice to the person on the other end of the line. Good advice in life in all situations. Can you tell I used to work at a call centre?

  2. Sandra says:

    Excellent advice. (Btw you are up early today–I am up with my dog who is scared sh*tless of thunder. Sigh)

    • bgddyjim says:

      I’m always up early Sandra. Such is my life. The pooch has you up SUPER early though! I hope you get a nap in!

      • Sandra says:

        Me too. I remember you saying you get up super early. I hit the hay at 930 knowing this was coming. Been up since 130am. Egads. And it ain’t over yet. It’s fun catching up on your blog though. Every six months, it seems, I have to resubscribe. I get kicked off a lot of blogs for some reason.

Leave a Reply

