Fit Recovery

Home » Cycling » In Cycling, a Burning Desire is Good.  A Burning Sensation?  Not so Much.

In Cycling, a Burning Desire is Good.  A Burning Sensation?  Not so Much.

September 2017
M T W T F S S
« Aug    
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Before I left for DALMAC, I raised the nose of my saddle a little bit.  I felt like I was sliding up to the horn just a bit.  I know, small moves, so a half-turn loose on the front bolt and a half-turn tight on the back…  I tried it, it felt good, so I rode.  103 miles on day one.  102 miles on day two.  101 on day three… and 70 on day four.

We came home, 34 easy miles on Monday – and that’s when I discovered I crushed my… ummm, yeah.   Apparently I nosed that saddle up just a bit too much.  Dammit.

So I lowered the nose a bit the other day and let’s just say, es muy bueno.  So now I can get back to that burning desire to ride and leave the burning sensation in the mirror.  If I actually used a mirror.  Which I don’t.

A few points:

  • A half-turn on each bolt works out to a full turn…  That’s not a small move.
  • Even though that was a fairly big move, it actually felt pretty good.  Right up until it didn’t.
  • When I corrected the correction, I had to be careful not to go too far.  Going by feel wasn’t exactly an option.  Things are, umm, a little swollen.

I wouldn’t have done anything different, either.  Many can say I shouldn’t have made the change before I left for a big tour, some will say I went too far (and they’d be right)….  That doesn’t take everything in context though.

What is important is that I’m not afraid to make changes when they’re needed.  I know how to read what I’m feeling on the bike and do something about it.  I’m also not afraid to make a mistake (nor am I above it).  

Bikes are funny things, especially when changes are made to them that affect the set-up (like changing the saddle angle).  If I’m not willing to make mistakes and to make changes, “well let’s just keep it where it is”, I could miss out on “better”.  I’m not willing to be that kind of person.  Better to make a mistake and learn from it than never make a change in the first place.  

Besides, a few days after the mess and I’m already feeling normal again.  No harm, no foul.

11 Comments

  1. I am trying to adjust my saddle and it is driving me insane!!! i don’t have the two bolt adjusters so it is much harder to fine tune. I get back and my shoulders and back are killing me from holding myself up!! I gone back to completely level and seeing what i can do from there. Any advice on fine tuning with one bolt systems?

    • bgddyjim says:

      My Venge has a one bolt, but it’s infinitely adjustable. Does yours have teeth, or grooves that limit the adjustability of the saddle? The reason I ask is the original Trek seat post that came on the bike had teeth that meshed together when the system was tightened down. I was literally between clicks so one click up and my boys were in pain. One click down and I was sliding off the front of the saddle.

      Basically, you want to move that saddle nose up a millimeter at a time till you’re not sliding forward and you’re cradled by the saddle. If you start feeling pressure up front, drop the nose a millimeter and roll.

      If you have a semi-adjustable seat post, broom it and a two-bolt seat post that adjusts infinitely (Easton makes a great carbon fiber post that goes for about $100 if memory serves).

  2. sarahdudek80 says:

    Those are some epic rides! I was just telling my husband that I would really like to learn a bit more about cycling. I could see a duathlon in my future. Reading your accounts piques my interest…..minus the whole crushing things part 😉

  3. Castration would solve the issue forever.

  4. Been there…my doctor was like,” What the hell did you do?!” 😂 Two weeks to heal, but couldn’t wait to get back on and ride!

  5. AndrewGills says:

    I adjusted my saddle backwards about 4 weeks ago and, despite fixing it forwards again 2 rides later, my fingers are still numb from my mistake. Just glad it’s only my fingers and nothing more “important” 😉

Leave a Reply

