Fit Recovery

Home » Cycling » My first-ever technically perftect bicycle photo – and it isn’t even of the GOOD bike

My first-ever technically perftect bicycle photo – and it isn’t even of the GOOD bike

September 2017
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

I simply can’t do any better with my limited equipment (a Galaxy S6 and patience):

The wheels are right, the cables are right, the crank is right, chain on the big dog, proper setting on the camera.  Handlebar angle, hoods in perfect perspective alignment, impeccable bar tape, clean tires, tire logos centered on the valve stems… Everything is just right, even decent lighting (though the sun had more to do with that than I did).

Of all of the photo I’ve taken of my bike’s, that one is the first that perfectly follows all of the rules of proper bike photography.

I printed it, framed it and hung it on the wall of my office the other day (I also digitally removed the 1° of drop in the garage door in the photo that went on the wall – I left it in for this post so something could be wrong with the photo.  I strive for perfection but I handle it horribly when achieved.  Chuckle).

I can die a happy man.  Just not for another 53 years or so.

4 Comments

  1. Bicyclosis says:

    Chain should be on the middle cog 😛

    • bgddyjim says:

      Oh, you’re TOUGH! I disagree though. The chain looks better on the third cog because it’s a closer parallel to the ground. The derailleur cage does look a little off though, so I could almost side with you. Almost but not quite.

  2. Manu Stanley says:

    Galaxy? Cool! I thought every one in the States is after iPhone. The photo is perfect 🙂

    • bgddyjim says:

      The iPhone had some serious flaws connecting to Wi-Fi networks. I had one for years but my last simply wouldn’t connect to routers so I took my 6 back after having it for less than six months and have been using a Galaxy since. Never a problem since. As far as I’m concerned they can have their iPhone… I want nothing to do with them after that mess.

Leave a Reply

