Fit Recovery

Home » 2014 » February » 03

Daily Archives: February 3, 2014

Irrational Lack of Motivation…

This offseason, between the ridiculously cold weather and my father passing away my motivation has taken a big hit.  I have no motivation whatsoever when it comes to running and I can’t remember the last time I did my normal push-up sets.  Indoor training on the traning wheels has been normal, if not a little better than last year and I’m pushing much harder gears than I was able to last year but I’m still missing a lot when it comes to the desire to really put the hammer down.  I can get on the bike with a fabulous attitude but fifteen minutes in and I’m doing the old “this is good enough” two-step.

As far as eating goes, let’s just say it’s been a while since I looked at food as fuel…  I am a bit over my optimal weight but this isn’t necessarily a bad thing.  My cycling weight has me pretty thin, according to Mrs. Bgddy.  Still, I’m feeling a little thick around the midsection.

The truth is I just need to shut up get back at it.  Somehow I’m going to have to dig a little deeper for the motivation to break through this little hiccup.

The above was written at 4:30 am…

The following is from slightly after noon:

My “down time”, or my little lack of motivation period, if you will, lasted for about two weeks.  A few days before my dad passed until today.  I pushed on the floor a bit to get myself used to it again and I had a great session on the bike, even if I did struggle to keep it going.  Of course, one good day a comeback does not make, but this will be like anything else:  One day at a time.

Thankfully, the timing for this little comeback can’t be better – that Godforesaken lump of fur a groundhog decided we’ve got six more weeks of winter – just enough to get me whipped back into shape.