Fit Recovery

Home » 2017 » August » 30

Daily Archives: August 30, 2017

Some Days are Meant for the Couch….  Or Dialing in My Wife’s Bike, THEN the Couch.

Chuckle…..

We had two of the stranger weather days I’ve ever seen.  Storms just popped up and sat there.  No wind, no movement.  My wife and I were leaving the meeting place from the Tuesday night ride, without having actually ridden.

Dude, I’ll do a lot to get a bike ride in, but not in that.  Five miles south, the sun was shining.  When we got home, with the sun shining, my wife and I got ready and headed out.  A mile north and two east and it was sprinkling with the sun shining.

Dejected, we turned it around and headed home.  Where the sun was shining.  Three miles made that much of a difference.  

Rather than go in and write the evening off, I grabbed my Allen wrench set and we took to dialing in my wife’s new saddle.  My wife is insanely difficult with saddle location.  Think the princess and the pea and translate that to bike saddles.

After four adjustments, we think we have something to work with.  That’s after three previous adjustments over a few days.  The most frustrating part for me is in wanting my wife to be able to feel good in her saddle while struggling so mightily to make it happen.  By comparison, it takes ten minutes to dial my own saddle in.  I take a 5mm Allen wrench with me on a short ride.  A little nose down, a little move back, nose up just a hair…. done, perfect.  

It’s been a lot tougher getting my wife set up, and we needed that time to concentrate solely on getting that saddle dialed in.  Hopefully that’s the difference.

After, a light dinner and some fun couch time with my wife and kids.  I don’t even know what time it was I dozed off….