Fit Recovery

Home » Cycling » My First Ever Commute To Work By Bike

My First Ever Commute To Work By Bike

Archives

April 2024
M T W T F S S
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

That’s right, folks! I actually rode my 5200 to the office yesterday.

It was a little tougher than I expected, but it was definitely neat. What I really enjoyed was that I had an amazing morning and was vastly more efficient at work. I was vastly more alive all day – it had something to do with the exercise on the way in to work. Anyway, it was nice to have that much energy right out of the gate. There was one small issue I’ll have to figure out, though. More on that in a minute.

After my day was done, I had a dentist’s appointment for a new crown that I had to tend to, so I took the long way home… but not the really long way. Plus I had my backpack, with my computer, office tools, and clothes on my back. I wasn’t prepared for how heavy that was after five miles. I really wasn’t loving that backpack after eight. And I was ready to be done after nine.

On the good side of that equation, I’m going to be getting a completely different workout for the ride with 20-ish pounds on my back… and I’m going to try to keep it to just recognizing the good side.

Today and tomorrow, it’ll be cold and rainy, so I’m driving to work, but next week looks pretty awesome for more commutes. I’m really stoked to be able to do this. I’ve dreamed of riding a bike to work for decades.

Oh, and the one big issue in this tale. I’m a sweater. I always have been – and I broke a pretty good one trying to get to the office yesterday. I’m going to have to keep some things at the office to keep me from getting stinky… lest I become quite unpopular very quickly.


5 Comments

  1. niall says:

    You’ll get to be an expert at the sink wash 🤣

Leave a comment