Fit Recovery

Home » Humor » It’s Time to Stop the Madness: Politics Is Not the Root Of Your Anger, OR Worth Your Happiness

It’s Time to Stop the Madness: Politics Is Not the Root Of Your Anger, OR Worth Your Happiness

Archives

September 2020
M T W T F S S
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Folks, I just heard about a story about some left-wing zealot who, because his father put a Trump sign up in his yard, decided he should stop visiting and go one step further in not allowing his father and mother to see their grandchildren.

Friends, enough. This is politics. Chuck Shumer and Nancy Pelosi don’t believe in the arguments they use to grapple for power any more than Cocaine Mitch or Ted Cruz do.

Republicans passed on Merrick Garland because they hoped they could get a better candidate through if Trump won (I didn’t like the gamble at the time, personally, because I thought Hillary was going to win). Democrats didn’t mind this either, as everyone was sure Hillary Clinton would win. Oh, sure, they put up a fight against the Biden Rule. Now, ironically, those who fought using the Biden Rule are now espousing its virtue, and conversely, those once pointing out it’s origin are now, humorously enough, saying that they can see the error in what they did, so let’s get Trump’s new candidate through, using Democratic rules changed by Harry Reid.

The point is, politicians simply try to put forward the argument that suits their situation. They have no morals other than to get their agenda through (Lisa Murkowski, Susan Collins, Joe Manchin and maybe one other Democrat excepted in the Senate). Republicans control the Senate and the Presidency. The Biden Rule gets shelved. If Democrats controlled the Senate, I guarantee you they’d invoke the rule. But they don’t. And the reason they’re incensed is because Harry Reid changed the Senate rules to try to stack the court so that only a majority vote is needed to advance and confirm an appointment. Now, you can hate the game, but hating people because of politicians is plain old wrong.

We must remember that the oldest profession in history is the prostitute. The second is politician, and the second isn’t much better than the first – they both operate similarly.

Love one another, no matter what.

My wife and I are living proof a Republican can love a Democrat and vice-versa. We simply don’t talk about politics. Ever.

F*** the politicians. Let them deal with the bed they’ve made. We’ll have to deal with the one we have, and that’s enough.

Just a thought. I reserve the right to be right. Or wrong.


8 Comments

  1. Lisa M. Boyd says:

    Hear hear! I said something different today. I could have said my usual though. I would never let politics get in the way of any love, or friendship I have that is simply B.S. I love my son, and we know it is just not a topic we breach. I love him no different, and the same as my friends. Whether they put a Trump or Biden sign in their yard makes no difference. We are Americans we have the right to vote, and choice in all matters. So good post! People are crazed right now. I have family members who will not talk to me because of who they think (no evidence) of who I vote for. How sad, oh well they are the ones missing out! I still love them all the same, just not gonna play into their game. Blessings to you Jim!

  2. Well said brother! Sometimes you’ve just got to take a step back, breathe deeply and then thank God you live in a country where you actually have the right and privilege to vote for who leads your country!

  3. Dan says:

    Uh…sorry. The oldest profession us farming! Adam and Eve!πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

    • bgddyjim says:

      Ooh, well, technically read that story a little closer, Dan. Farming was a PART, but how did Eve get Adam to eat the fruit again?

      BAM! πŸ˜‡πŸ€£πŸ€£πŸ€£πŸ€£

  4. OmniRunner says:

    I agree! They (all of them) mucked around with the rules and now the rules are coming home to roost.
    Let the chips fall where they may.

  5. curlymamaof2 says:

    Hubby and I are also opposing parties…if you want to call it that. More like 2 centrists with leanings in opposite directions depending on the issue.
    We do discuss politics though. Just respectfully and we actually listen to each other. Hard to do, but possible.

    Great post!

Leave a comment