Fit Recovery

Home » Cycling » A Perfect Month…

A Perfect Month…

Archives

October 2013
M T W T F S S
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

It’s a rare day that I’d claim perfection when it comes to cycling.  There’s always something that I can do better, faster or with a little bit more heart.  September would have been no different had I not put away all worries of improvement and just taken some time to enjoyment the sport I love.  First, it helps that I had a brand new bike to break in (700 mile review is in progress), but beyond that, I had accomplished just about everything I’d wanted to for the year.

Sometime around the middle of the month I decided that it was time to put away the goals and just ride for the fun of it – not to take it easy by any means, but to put the GPS in the back pocket and ignore the lap/mile times and the average time and speed…  You know, let things shake out where they may.  My averages for the month were no worse of than August or July, I just didn’t pay so much attention to it – call it letting the chips fall where they may.

So, how do I define a perfect month?  Like this:
September 2013Every Monday off, rides on every other day of the week.  Some hard efforts, others decent speeds (19-20 mph) and still others, simple Friday 20 milers with my wife that included stops at the bike shop, Wendy’s for lunch and generally just good times.

I managed, for September, 658 miles or a little more than 25 miles a day.  My hard effort days averaged out to around 21-21.5 mph while my regular efforts averaged out to 18.5-19 mph and my active recovery rides, about 17 mph.  I managed to maintain a fantastic balance throughout the whole month and had an absolute blast.

SeptemberMileage2013


6 Comments

  1. Paige says:

    Random question…do you EVER sleep???

    • bgddyjim says:

      Six hours a night, usually 8:30 pm till 2:30 or 3:00 am. It sounds loopy, I know but I enjoy my life this way immensely. 18 hours of go, go, go and six of “I’m out”. Admittedly, it’s not for everyone.

  2. Chatter says:

    You my friend are a machine. Awesome numbers.

  3. CultFit says:

    Amazing month mate, well done!!! Have you done any “Honey I need you to come pick me up” rides? Head out the door with a fully charged phone, ride to – wherever – reach for your phone and call for a pickup … I let my wife pick the spot for dinner on the way back of course. 😉

    • bgddyjim says:

      LOL! I had one last year (fortunately she only had to drive 10 miles – I was absolutely bonked out, 10-12 mph) but that was the last one. This year I haven’t even come close to bonking.

      Dinner is a nice touch… I’ll have to remember that one, thanks for the tip. 😀

Leave a comment