Fit Recovery

Home » Cycling » I’m Back!!! But A Lot Closer to Not than I would have Thought.

I’m Back!!! But A Lot Closer to Not than I would have Thought.


This is going to be one of those posts, maybe.  Maybe not.  I’ll try work through it quickly.  First, the weather was crap all weekend long until yesterday afternoon so I got to spend some time, just me and my Higher Power, kicking things around because the deer sure were hunkered down for the weekend.

I’ve wanted to stop writing for a while now.  I thought I’d said everything I have to say.  On the other hand, every now and again, I run into one and hit a home run, coming up with a post that changes someone’s outlook on life for the better.  This is why I started this site in the first place.

I know what you’re thinking. I thought it too… Why not just write the home runs and take the rest of the time for other things?

First, it doesn’t work that way with me.  I have to be thinking about writing to come up with the home runs.  If i’m not swinging the bat on a regular basis, no home runs.

Second, dude, I’m an ex-drunk.  In case you hadn’t heard, we’re kind of all or nothing people.

Anyway, it’s all about helping other drunks and their families when it comes down to it and the fitness/cycling stuff is definitely a part of the recovery and it’s fun.

So to cut to the chase, with that as context to the Title, my idea was to use the weekend to get a glimpse at what it would be like without blogging… and it wasn’t all that bad.  Or should I say, I didn’t miss it as much as I thought I would.  While I read several posts, I didn’t write, start, finish or amend one post all weekend long.

One thing I did learn though, I still feel a bit like I would imagine Miguel Cabrera feels in a slump (all three days of it).  Sometimes it ain’t easy but it’s definitely not time to stop swinging.

 

11 Comments

  1. unironedman says:

    “Though wise men at their end know dark is right,
    Because their words had forked no lightning they
    Do not go gentle into that good night”

    And old Dylan Thomas. He was fond of a few alright.

    Love the analogy: have to keep swingin’ to hit a few home runs. Have to keep writin’ to get a few home truths, would be a writer’s equivalent. And a mechanic would say we need to recharge our batteries every now and again. Always on the mark, my friend. Though I admit a large part of me was equally glad that your hunting skills let you down a wee bit… sometimes the higher power is with the deer 😉

  2. Sue Slaght says:

    I think taking a break is a good thing. As I’ve always said I have no idea how you manage a daily post. Most of all do what feels right for you. 🙂

  3. thebikelog says:

    Hi! I’m new to your blog—this is the first post I’ve read. I know I’m going to be a fan…even if you don’t write posts all the time! Thank you

  4. Considering your idea of a rest day is to ride 50 miles at an 18 mph average, I’m not sure what that means a blog rest day would be….. heh heh heh.

  5. I truly do hope you continue to write. You and your blog have helped me more than I believe you will ever know. You are a success story, an inspiration and a genuinely kind soul. So thank you, for being you and sharing with us all!

    • bgddyjim says:

      And that is exactly why I don’t quit. Your comment. It boggles my mind, in a good way, that I’m worthy of such kind words but if I quit, it’d be like slapping my HP in the face after he gave me the strength, courage and wisdom to get through some really tough life spots. I have to share my experience.

      So, thank you, for helping me continue.

  6. chape says:

    Even if we are all or nothing people, I´ve noticed days off aren´t bad, every now and then 😉
    Hugs!

Leave a Reply

