Fit Recovery

Home » Cycling » Fit Recovery’s Cycling Dictionary: The Definition of Recovery

Fit Recovery’s Cycling Dictionary: The Definition of Recovery

November 2016
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

The Fit Recovery Cycling Dictionary defines the word Recovery thusly:

Recovery
rəˈkəv(ə)rē

Noun

A return to a state of happiness in terms of mind, health and strength.

If you went by the fact that I consistently write of my recovery from alcoholism as the basis for this blog, you would only be getting the part of the picture of what recovery is.  Drinking was but a symptom of a much greater breakdown of my life that was in desperate need of repair.  Obviously alcoholism was the beginning of my recovery, alcoholism created the desperation I needed to get the ball rolling.  From there, once I embraced a program of recovery, taking to the task of repairing the rest of what was wrong with me became a natural progression.  A funny thing happens once a miserable person like me tastes freedom and happiness:  We want more.  The simplest path, I found, was to lead a clean, honest, decent life in which I never crossed a goal line.  There is always room for improvement.  This keeps me on a path of constant improvement, seeking only happiness, balance, and to be of use to my fellows.  While it’s not always easy (especially trying to keep the focus where it belongs – on me and my issues to fix), it is incredibly rewarding.  The important point here is that recovery isn’t just for alcoholics and addicts.  Recovery is for anyone who wants a return to happiness, health and strength.  The only question that remains is how bad do we want it.

wp-1472953569949.jpg

 

9 Comments

  1. unironedman says:

    Recovery isn’t just for alcoholics and addicts. Recovery is for anyone who wants a return to happiness, health and strength
    This is yet another T shirt. And a winner. I’m going to have to rob that one 😉

  2. I recovered a cushion once… for cyclists, most ‘recovery’ is for the mind, not the body. The body can take a lot more than you think. We just have to get our heads around it. I’m no purist (I ride a fixed wheel) but that front QR?

  3. Ah…I see – as I said, I’m no purist (or expert). I ride a fixed with bolted on wheels (no need to worry about them falling out) and when I do take to a geared bike, it is for TT’s…where there is no one else about. I’m not that fussed about riding with any more than one other rider.

Leave a Reply

