Fit Recovery

Home » Fitness » An Awesome, Easy Weekend on the Bike and a New Goal or Two for Recovery

An Awesome, Easy Weekend on the Bike and a New Goal or Two for Recovery

Archives

December 2020
M T W T F S S
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

This past weekend was my favorite kind of weekend. Bike rides, tinkering on bikes, a few chores, cleaning up the bikes after rides, and watching some football.

It was awesome.

It’s a short week this week with the Christmas Holiday followed by a bunch of days off. This year had a lot of suck to it but as time off goes, I’ve never had it so good. Ever.

On tap for the remainder of the year, I’m thinking about shaking up my recovery a little bit. Maybe do some tinkering on that – or at least pay more attention to the tinkering I’m doing. Recovery has become such an engrained way of life, I really don’t think much about it, I just naturally do it reflexively. This is a good thing, of course, but I’m thinking I want to be a little more cognizant of what’s going on. Rather than let it happen, I think maybe I want to practice recovery (if that makes sense). I’ve also got a new sponsee who, like many, has reached that point where he has to start actively working the program or he’ll be out in the madness before long.

He’s at that horrific place where you’ve done all your growth possible with the first three steps, but the fourth and fifth are either too scary or too much like real work to proceed.

I can relate, having been there myself. Really, when you think about it, I’m there now in a manner of thinking. The only difference between my sponsee and I is that I know what’s on the other side of that work and it’s all good so I’m looking forward to not only doing the work, but the perks that come with that work.

This is one of those times where I wish I could take my experience and cram it into his melon so he’d be able to know why we work at this. On the other hand, if it was that simple, he would have the knowledge but not the experience. For me, the leap of going from three to four and five changed my recovery forever. We should all be so lucky to experience the epiphany for ourselves.

I am grateful for where I am today. That’ll do.


4 Comments

  1. unironedman says:

    As with all things, it’s the journey. You’ve got a great bike, but you didn’t get fit reading the manual 😉

  2. idlecyclist says:

    I find it interesting that you describe yourself as still in recovery rather than recovered. Is that a state of mind for you or is that typical?

    • bgddyjim says:

      Never gave it much thought. I know some people put a lot of stock in “recovered” over “in recovery”… I think for me it’s reflexive to say I’m in recovery because I have to stay active in it. I don’t ever want to get used to the idea that perhaps I’ve crossed a finish line. That would be very, very bad. We tend to get cocky and go back out. Many die shortly thereafter. Seen it happen, brother. It isn’t pretty.

Leave a comment