Fit Recovery

Home » Cycling » You Can’t Solve the Problems You Created with the Same Thinking that Created Them in the First Place

You Can’t Solve the Problems You Created with the Same Thinking that Created Them in the First Place

Archives


Oh, how certain was I that I could drink like a normal fella if I just gave it a little effort. I then proceeded to try everything I could think of to do that. Let’s just say it didn’t turn out well. The one good thing to come out of it all was that I gained the knowledge that, unlike most of the population, I am irrevocably a pickle and I will never be a cucumber again.

Many will wonder why I stick to this belief. After all, it’s been twenty-eight years since the last time I’ve been drunk or high. Surely I must have had some mental shift that would rectify whatever it was that was wrong with me, right?

My friends, Einstein once said that problems can’t be solved with the same thinking that created them. Going back to drinking would be like trying to solve a problem that was already correctly solved, but with the thinking that created the problem to begin with.

Think about this a minute. I have performed, in the last twenty-eight years, the perfect reverse country song. I have everything I could possibly hope for after a quick traipse through hell as a youngster. I’ve got a fantastic family, a loving wife, a tremendous relationship with my daughters, I make a good living, I’ve got a roof over our heads, cars, toys, and my health… the only thing I changed for a “Get Out Of Hell Free” card was I quit drinking and I worked twelve steps. Repeatedly. Until I got good at them.

Now, what kind of knucklehead would, after twenty-eight years of winning, say, “Hey, maybe it’d be a good idea to try drinking again”?

Like I said, that’s even beyond Einstein… that’s “let’s try to fix that which isn’t broken with thinking that is”. I don’t need to entertain that today, and for that I am grateful. I will keep coming back.


6 Comments

  1. gr8ful_collette says:

    Love this. So much truth.💕

  2. dabigleap says:

    New to your blog. Thanks for the great site. I am still raw and new to sobriety and the monkey in my head is using this line of reasoning with me. “Hey! Two weeks sober! Cool! You should have a drink to celebrate!” Completely stupid, but it is where I am. I know this will be a lifelong argument but it is still good to know others deal with it as well.

    • bgddyjim says:

      It’s only a lifelong argument if you listen to the monkey. You won’t ever have to relive the last two weeks again if you don’t pick up. Think about how hard this last two weeks were. The pain of accepting, of realizing how lost you are. The pain of losing alcohol.

      It gets so much better, but only if you keep coming back.

  3. Jason says:

    Well said and very impressed! You can’t receive life’s gifts if you hold on with a closed fist!

Leave a comment