Fit Recovery

Home » Cycling » Sometimes It’s Good Times and Noodle Salad. Sometimes Not So Much…

Sometimes It’s Good Times and Noodle Salad. Sometimes Not So Much…

August 2015
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

wpid-wp-1438648407624.jpeg

Bacon Ranch Noodle Salad.  Seriously,  that’s a real thing.  And it is good.  I had a spoonful with my dinner last night.  My last big dinner for two weeks.
wpid-wp-1438648615360.jpeg

Two Ball Park Angus all beef dogs (on a footlong bun – WOOHOO!), a bit of mac-n-cheese, a Vlasic pickle spear and sweet corn on the cob (picked about 24 hours ago, from a local farm – thank God for sweet corn season!).

Over the next two weeks I decided to lose five pounds for DALMAC.  Doing so will save me about fifteen bucks a week.  Put into perspective,  dropping a pound from my bike would cost another $4,000.  Dropping five pounds from my bike simply couldn’t be done, at any price, without buying a new bike (call it $15,000 for a new Trek Emonda).  I decided to embark on this little dietary journey after riding Mountain Mayhem.  Those mountains were tough.  After 290 miles in 3 days they’re gonna suck.  If I drop five pounds they’ll suck a bit less, it’s that simple.

So as of this morning it will be smaller portions, no more sodas, no more deserts or fast food for a couple of weeks.

I’ve discussed this with my wife and received her blessing (with the caveat that if I take it too far and get too skinny, she gets to say something, though I have no idea why that would be a bad thing).

Interesting, folks, is that meal in the photograph…  That’s a fairly big meal for me (when you add in the bacon ranch noodle salad, call it two full tablespoons).  That’s a meal designed to maintain my weight in the midst of a 200-250 mile a week cycling lifestyle.  My question is this:  Does that really look like all that much?
wpid-wp-1438678967627.jpeg

Those legs need their proper fuel but there are some simple places to cut enough calories to let my long rides over the next few weeks work their magic.  I am fortunate in that I’m a calories in/calories burned kind of guy.  I don’t have to bother with carbs this and gluten that, I don’t have to resort to a beans, lettuce and twigs diet.  As long as I’m sensible about how much I eat, I can lose or maintain my weight pretty easily (though I’m told those days are numbered – specifically about 1,795).

There are a few things that I do have to consider while I embark on this little task though.  First, I don’t want to cut too much from my diet lest the weight that I do lose be in the form of muscle mass as that would defeat the purpose.  Second, I can’t really cut carbs too much because I use them.  Finally, timing is everything.  When I choose to eat is just as important as how much.  I want to eat right after a workout, especially a hard one like my Tuesday night ride.  Doing this improves how I recoup after the effort.

Thankfully, other than that it’s not rocket science.  Eat smart, ride hard, lose weight, climb faster…  Now all I have to do is put some batteries in that scale of ours.  Wait, I have to find the scale first…

2 Comments

  1. tischcaylor says:

    Good luck — not that luck has anything to do with it.

Leave a Reply

